Friday, December 7, 2012

18 Months and 23 Weeks

Well, I finally have the day off due to Vivian not being able to watch Tyler today so I feel as though I can sit down and write as my munchkin is taking his nap.  I do not get to sit down at the computer much these days unless it is doing schoolwork.  Days are flying by!  Every day I look at Tyler and think "How are you already 18 months old?"  It feels like just yesterday we were at the hospital getting ready to deliver this little guy and wondering what he was going to be like.  I could have never in my wildest dreams dreamt how wonderful life would be as a mother to this baby boy.  He is more that I could have EVER asked for and I thank God daily for him!!!! 

He is starting to talk some now and that is exciting.  For those of you that keep up with me outside of this blog, you know we have been worried why he was not talking yet.  At his 18 month check up they said he should know several words, etc.  His version of thank you is "Da-du" and he says hi and bye and daddy now.  I am convinced he knows the words but just is being stubborn.  You say "point to the flowers" and he does, "where are the keys?" and he goes to the key ring.  He knows SO much that we have to watch what we say all the time now.  My new favorite is "Where's the baby?" and he has to pull up my shirt (even if people are around) and kiss or rub my belly.  He does not really understand the concept that he is going to be a big brother yet, but he knows there is a baby in my belly.  If he sees a baby on tv, he comes and pulls up my shirt and rubs the belly now too.  I cannot wait to see what he is like when baby boy comes in April.  I have a feeling he will be a bit jealous as he is used to getting 100% of our attention! 

Also, for those of you that have not kept up with me much... Its a BOY!  We went to find out and I was hoping it was a boy (but would have been happy either way).  I thought since they will  be so close in age that having two boys would be so much fun!!  Within seconds of the ultrasound I said, "Its a boy- I just saw the parts!"  The ultrasound tech looked at me funny and kept looking and sure enough said... "Well, yes you did- you are having another boy!"  Mike and I were both VERY excited and feeling blessed already.  We do not have a name picked out yet but have narrowed it down to 2 choices we think!  That will be announced later once we decide for sure! It will be nice because we kept up with all of Tyler's clothes and kept them all nice and organized so we have more than we ever need!

At the 18 week appointment, they also found out that baby boy is breech!  We went back this week at 22 weeks and found out he still has not flipped.  His head and legs are up in my right ribs while his bottom is down in my left pelvic region.  He is diagonal across my belly with his back/spine facing out.  Thats why the movements are more painful this time around because he is literally all up in my ribs!  They still think there is plenty of time to move but if not, I will get to see what a C-Section is like this time.  I am getting myself prepared for a C-Section JUST IN CASE!  I am a planner and if I know ahead of time and can prepare myself, I am fine with it but if it is sprung upon me last minute, I am not good with that.  We will see, but hoping for him to flip around!

Football is over so we get to see daddy a bit more.... but basketball has started!  Basketball season is not near as time consuming and he even has weekends off now (for the most part)!!!!!  We are planning on doing some fun things over the Christmas break and enjoy time with Tyler as much as possible because after this break the next big break is Spring Break.  Judging by  my measurements and history with Tyler, I may be having this baby over Spring Break this year!  Nothing exciting to post but wanted to update those who keep up with me.  Sorry it has been so long but times are busy!  Hope everyone has a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS and a HAPPY NEW YEAR! :)  

-Katie  
 

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Kintz, Party of......4!!!!

Well, well, well.... a lot has gone on since my last blog.  Its called the first trimester!  Thank the Lord it is over now!  Lets back up a bit for those of you who have not heard the story and want to...

"You just know.." is what I have heard from so many people when you are pregnant.  "A mothers intuition" some call it.  I knew with Tyler that I was pregnant very early on.  The day before I even missed my first cycle.  With this second one, I had a good feeling but seeing as though we were not trying, I was still a bit skeptical.  Mike sent me out shopping to get Tyler some new clothes.  (He had already outgrown his 24 months and some 2T.)  I was shopping and saw a shirt that said "Best Big Brother in the Universe".  Cute shirt and they had just his size.  At this time it was soley based on the "I just know" feeling.  I picked up the shirt since it was pretty cheap and thought I would just save it for whenever the day actually happened since we had talked about thinking to try again in the next few months.  I did not tell anyone and when I came home I hid it in my drawer so Mike would not find it.  Seems like a good place for it to sit for awhile....

The very next day I was supposed to start... I didn't in the morning so while at Target with Mike later that day I mentioned that maybe we should pick up the cheapest test they had just to be sure it wasnt true.  As we were discussing this, Tyler had some serious stomach issues and I had to take him directly to the restroom and do some serious diaper changing.  Mike checked out and got the test.  On the way home he said, "You might as well go ahead and take this today."  I assured him I would wait a few days so we did not waste money if I was to start.  However; anyone who knows me knows that my patience is about as good as a fat kid having to wait in line at a buffet.  I got right home and suddenly had the urge to urinate. haha.  Immediately, two lines popped up on the stick.  I looked in the book and it said "two lines means pregnant".  Surely this cannot be true.  It was so quick.  Better try again.  "Two lines means pregnant" again.  So I got the shirt that had been sitting in my drawer for not even a full 24 hours now and laid it out on the counter.  I called Mike back.  He said he knew as soon as he heard "Mike, can you come here please?"  He was very excited but completely surprised as well. My mom was in town at the house and my dad was due to be in a few hours.  I went and got Tyler and we put the shirt on him.  He, of course, walked right out straight to meme and had to show off his shirt.  She read it and about choked on her drink!  My dad came home that afternoon and it took a good 5 minutes until he actually read his shirt.  He kept playing with Tyler, talking to us until finally mom made a face to read his shirt.  This is no surprise to those who know my dad.  He is not a real "pay attention to detail" type person. We also skyped with Nana Kintz and she read the shirt and was shocked. So fun to tell everyone.

However; this was two days before I started my new job!  I was stressing a bit.  How do I tell my brand new job that I will miss out on FCAT testing, and be leaving before the year is up?  Well, I took care of that pretty early on to ease my mind.  They were great about it and very supportive.  :)

Talk about stress though.... A 15 month old at home, a new job that requires a lot of work, and being in the first trimester.  Oh and did I mention that this pregnancy is already VERY different from the first.  I was actually nauseaus this time around.  A LOT!  Fun times.

Now, a bit over 12 weeks (but measuring 13 weeks), I am starting to feel better.  However; due to some slight complications (placenta previa) I am not able to lift anything (including Ty Ty), excercise, or be on my feet too much.  My energy is returing and I can be a fun mom again to my sweet baby boy.  I say baby but he is full blown toddler now.  He is climbing on everything in sight.  Pretty soon he will be climbing the walls I think and hanging from the ceiling fans.  He is so much fun at this stage!  He follows simple commands such as "Touch your nose" and "Wave bye" etc.  He is not really talking much yet. He mumbles a lot and makes noises but the words are not too clear.  As much as we want him to talk, I think one day he is all of a sudden going to start talking in complete sentences and we will be wishing he didnt talk. haha.  :)  JK.  We are working daily on basic words but he is a stubborn one.  Tyler is getting baptized at our church on October 14, so that is a big event coming up.  We are very excited!!  He has his suit and tie already picked out and will be looking all sophisticated. 

Other than that, our life is the same old.  Its football season so we do not get to see daddy too much but that gives us even more "Mommy and Ty" time which coming April I will long for more of.  Our next little bundle of joy is due April 4, 2013 which means that my babies will be 23 months apart.  Just shy of 2 years.  God has truly blessed us and I cannot wait to see what the coming months bring for Tyler and the baby in my belly.  :)

- Katie (mom of 2)

P.S. It should be around November when we determine whether baby boy or baby girl.  Stay tuned for an update!!!! Ive had a lot of guesses so far (mostly boy).  Ive had a lot of requests so far (mostly girl).  I cannot please both as there is only ONE baby in there.  Promise. :)

Friday, August 10, 2012

The Final Countdown

Well, the final weekend before school is officially back in session.  I had quite a bit to do this week to prepare.  I will say I am worn out and going to hit the bed very soon (Dont judge- I know it is only 8:15 haha).  Today was "Meet the Teacher" so I got to meet several of my 5th grade darlings. :)  With that being said, I had to have my entire room done by the 11am today so the students could see the room.  It took a ton of work (and help from several people on the 5th grade team) to finally get the finished product.  I am sure I will make many changes and add to or take away things as the year goes but for a first time elementary teacher, its not too bad.  Here are some "after" pictures since I already posted the "before" in a previous blog.   

From the sink looking over at my desk area and science/ math bulletin boards.

This is where I am going to hang all of my students great work.  :)

Tracking AR points.  Students will have their points on the stars and we will update points every so often to keep track of where they are at. 

From the front of the room looking left.  Big windows looking out to the K-3 classrooms.


The front board. 

Yes, they already have homework on the first day of school. :)  After seeing this picture I have to re-write the LA homework.  Its crooked- driving me nuts!


View from my desk to the entrance of my room. The bathrooms are back there too!
 I am so blessed to be working with such a great new staff and have a wonderful classroom of 22 little ones.  I am very excited to start the year, but also nervous.  How do I fill an entire day with the same class?  Im used to coming up with a lesson plan for a 45 minute class and repeating all day.  AGH!  Will update after the first few days (I would say first day but I might be tired).  Hope all my other teacher friends have a great first day back too whenever that might be.  Oh, and SSMS friends- I do miss you all!  Will be thinking of you on Monday.  Give my old kiddos a hello from me. 

As for Tyler this week, he could not have done any better.  He ran with arms wide open to Vivian and cried when I picked him up (so we had a heart to heart and he didnt cry today when I picked him up).  He did not cry at all during the day, slept 2.5 hours daily, ate all his food, and played hard.  God has blessed me with such a perfect little angel.  I missed him so much this week but at least I can rest assured that he absolutely adores Vivian and Candy (his babysitters). 

Thanks for checking in- sorry this is kind of boring but I had several asking for pictures of my room so here they are.  Im off to bed- Goodnight world!

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

The Dreaded "D" Word.

Lately we have been watching the Sesame Street Alphabet video my sister and niece got Tyler for his birthday and we have been doing our alphabet flashcards.  Not that we think our 1 year old is going to recite the whole alphabet, but to expose him to the sounds and letters.  So the alphabet is fresh on my mind and well, I have decided in the past few weeks there is one word that starts with the letter "D" that I am struggling with.... And the word is........ 

DISCIPLINE

I am a teacher so I deal with discipline on a regular basis.  I am used to disciplining as needed and one thing I have always said is "If you do not follow through on discipline, it is pointless."  I see so many people (sorry if you are one of them) who says "On the count of three I am going to _____.  One, Two, Two and one quarter, Two and one half, Two and.... " and never ends up following through.  As a teacher I know that kids test their limits.  I WILL NOT be one of those who does not follow through.

However; my son Tyler is testing the waters right now. It is not as easy to discipline a one year old because you think that they do not know better.  Well, my son does.  You can see him do something and then when you correct him, he waits a minute and does it again with that mischievous little look on his face.  And let me tell you, he looks so stinkin adorable doing whatever it is that he is not supposed to be doing.

I do not mind getting on to him and correcting the behavior.  That part of discipline is not the part getting me.  The real challenge is when you do correct the behavior, he gets SO ANGRY.  I am talking about hitting, kicking, and his newest habit: head-butting. (Thank you Aunt Carrie who used to do this all the time when she was a baby- I blame you!)  

How do you correct this?  Well, with a one year old, we already have a "time out" chair.  I feel when he is this young he cannot fully grasp some sorts of discipline, but he definitely does not like the time out chair.  It was hard to determine where "time out" would be because we don't want him to hate his bed if that was time out or hate his chair in his play room.  So we chose the office.  It is a big brown leather chair right by the desk.  I can see in the future us having many "chats" here.  We make him sit there until he is done throwing his temper tantrum (which is usually only like 2 minutes tops). 


This is not a very good picture, I took it with the webcam on the laptop but it is not the clearest.

  Many people say things like "Oh, 9 months is my favorite" or "At 12 months it is so much fun!".  I would have to agree that these times are all great but I can say one thing for sure..... 14 months is not going to hit the books as my favorite time! I love my son so very much and I thank God for him daily, but this whole throwing a fit thing is getting VERY old! I can now look back and say parenting has been a breeze up until this point.  He slept through the night very early on, hardly ever cried, laughed all the time, would eat anything and everything, and the list goes on.  This is where the real challenge of parenting is starting for us.  Wish me luck! We are going to need it with this little strong willed boy!

P.S. I am sorry if you do not agree with my ways of disciplining my son, but I think every child is different and this is what is working for us at the current time.  :)  Don't judge please. :)

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Elementary Days...

I will start out by saying that I loved teaching middle school.  South Seminole took great care of me and I gained some really great friendships and learned so much in my 3 years teaching there. However; it was very far from the babysitter and hours of middle school STINK!  School started at 9:15 but did not end until 4:00.  I would rather start very early and be out early.  In May the opportunity came up to make a switch to elementary (which is what I originally planned on teaching).  Getting a job anymore is all about who you know and I knew some people who informed me there was an opening and that I should try it out.  Not ever having a "real interview" before, I was very nervous.  I went to the interview one morning all dressed up, briefcase in hand with my working portfolio, high heels on, hair all done and shaking from head to toe.  About 10 minutes into the interview, they offered me the job!!!!  I am now the new 5th grade teacher at Idyllwilde Elementary.

5th Grade will be nice because it is not too big of a jump from 6th to 5th.  However; there is a lot of work ahead of me.  I went from teaching six math classes a day now to teaching reading, writing, science, social studies and math.  As excited as I am, I feel like I have done a cannon ball into a pool not knowing how to swim. 

Yesterday I met with my 5th grade team leader and she was wonderful!  I really enjoyed getting to talk to her. (Also, all of the 5th grade teachers have emailed hellos and invited me to a cookout already which is very nice.)  However; walking into the classroom that is empty I started to freak out a bit.  You mean I have to actually decorate my room to look like a 5th grade classroom and I do not even know what a 5th grade classroom looks like?  When I did student teaching in elementary it was in Kindergarten.  I cannot decorate it like that.  HELP?!?!?!   Here are some pictures of the empty classroom I saw yesterday.  (It was so super clean and I love the room though.)



This is when you walk into the classroom and see the front of the room.

From the door straight ahead.


Walk towards the front of the room and turn back and look at the doorway.Not sure what the teacher before did with this "fill your bucket" theme.


Oh my library so far.  These were books left for me.  I have quite a few more to add to the collection but no theme or anything for reading.  I need help! :)


The cute cubbies in the back of the room and backpack holders. 

I am getting excited to get started but Mike says I am wishing away my summer.  I am not trying to do that at all, just realizing I better get started on at least thinking through ideas of classroom set up etc before I get there the first day.  I do not want to be completely overwhelmed and crash the first week.  :)  Any ideas are helpful- PLEASE GIVE IDEAS!

I will keep you updated after with some pictures as well.  Thanks for joining me today in the nervous but excited new job beginnings.

-Katie

Saturday, July 7, 2012

Cause Baby You're a Firework...

This 4th of July we decided to head down to Jupiter, Florida to visit my parents.  We planned on leaving Tuesday the 3rd to head down but decided on the 2nd we wanted to go surprise my dad when he got off work.  We packed the car up very quickly and called my mom to let her know.  Through texting and calling the whole trip to time it up perfectly for when my dad gets off work, we had it worked out perfectly.  Mom called and said dad just got home and we were about 5 minutes away.  Well, as my bad luck goes, dad did not like that someone had parked in my moms parking spot that day and decided to look out the window from their 3rd floor condo to see who parked in my moms spot at the exact second we drove up.  Mom quickly told him there are other red trucks and that it could not have been us but my persistent father walked out to the elevator just to make sure.  This ruined our surprise of having Tyler knock at the door, but was still fun!  He was very happy to see his "little buddy".

On the 4th, we went down to the pool at 9:30am and stayed there until about 1:30 pm.  Tyler swam non stop.  He loves the baby pool because he can walk around, but he trips every once in awhile and completely goes under.  Every time he comes up laughing and giggling and tries to do it again.  I, of course, was freaking out and hated it, but everyone else laughed and thought it was so cute!  Mom made ribs, cole slaw, baked beans, fruit, and strawberry pie. YUM!!! That evening we went to Abacoa which is a very cute little town area where they had a festival.  We walked up and down the streets of the festival and listened to live bands.  Then, home to watch fireworks from the balcony of their condo.  (How many people can sit and listen to the ocean and watch fireworks in the comfort of their own balcony- I LOVED it.)



Tyler and Mommy at 4th Festival

Happy 4th!


Thats My Balloon Daddy...


Crazy Kiddo


On the 5th, we rented a boat and went out on the ocean and inner-coastal.  This was a blast!  The weather could not have been more perfect!  Tyler was rocked to sleep within minutes of the ride but woke up for the last few hours.  We saw houses of famous people like Tiger Woods, Celine Dion, and many more.  It was a great day!!! :)


Captain Papa Jeff

At least Tyler is watching..

Like Mother, Like Daughter


Ladies.. Back Off

Sleepy

Now back home and busy cleaning, scrapbooking, cooking, etc.  Starting this week Mike has football camps, basketball camps, and defensive retreat.  In a few weeks I start going to trainings for my new school. (Oh, if I forgot to mention in earlier posts, I am moving to elementary school next year and will be teaching 5th grade!  Not too much of a change from 6th and 7th grade math but am excited to make the change!!!!) Busy life goes on and on... Just wanted to catch up from our trip away!

Saturday, June 30, 2012

I love it when we're cruisin together...

For my first mother's day this year Mike and Tyler surprised me with a cruise!  I had absolutely no clue at all that I was going to be so spoiled for Mother's Day.  I told them this was awfully big and they are going to have to get really good to be able to beat this one. 

Mike and I took Tyler to Jupiter Beach to stay with my parents and Grandma Lillian while we were gone.  It was very hard to say goodbye.  As we were about 10 minutes from my parents house I teared up a bit and said "I dont think I can do this" and then Mike reminded me there was no going back or we would lose lots of money. (Leave it to my husband to think of the money aspect- haha.  For those of you that know Mike you know he would never let us lose a penny.) 

We boarded our cruise on June 16 from Miami, Florida.  We have 5 nights of relaxation, fun, and time to just be husband and wife instead of mommy and daddy.  Mike upgraded us to a balcony room and I have now decided I would not have it another way.  The rooms were more spacious than I had ever seen on my other cruises! 
This was the bed and sofa.  Out the window we had two chairs and  a table on the balcony.
We went to dinner each night in the main dining room and had a table just the two of us.  We, of course, got to know all the people at the tables around us.  Mike and  I have never been ones to just keep to ourselves. 
Our neighbors told us to pose like this and said it was "fabulous".  I beg to differ as I think it is very awkard but oh well!
Our first stop was Ochos Rios, Jamaica.  We had been there 3 years ago on our honeymoon but we still were excited to go to Margaritaville because last time we were there it was really fun!  We had a great time (a little too great actually).  Here are the pictures of the beginning of the time in Jamaica.  I ended up losing my camera later in the day but the next day on the cruise ship it was found!



The next stop was Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands!  We had never been there before so it was a great time! We went on an excursion that took us on a boat ride out to Stingray City Sandbar and then to snorkel in the ocean at a reef.  We really enjoyed this!


I screamed when I first got in the water as they come right up to you but I quickly learned they would not hurt me.  They were VERY slimy but soft!  The last picture I was getting a stingray massage with her sucker.  The big stingrays are females, males are tiny.  Weird?!?
Overall, the cruise was wonderful and we did exactly what we wanted... RELAXED!  It was so good to get back home with Tyler after being away for 5 nights but much needed time away.  He was in great hands with my mom, dad and grandma!  :)  Thank you so much for watching him so we could take this trip! 

Cant wait to see what next Mother's Day brings.......... JUST KIDDING!

                                                                               -- A very lucky wife and mom --

14 Months?!?

So I am really going to try to get better about this whole blogging business.  An entire year has gone by and not a single blog on my part.  Oops.  I wanted to update on this past year so this one may take a bit of time.

  • May 10, 2011- Tyler was born at 3:00 pm weighing 7 lbs, 6 oz and was 20 3/4 inches long!
  • The first few weeks he slept pretty much all the time. The first week of his life we stayed at my mom and dad's house because I was not able to climb the stairs at our house.  They helped us (really Mike) get through the first week since I was on pain killers and in tears every night around 7pm. (No, I am not a wimp.  Yes, I had some serious complications and pain would not subside.)
  • By about 3 weeks old, Tyler was sleeping in his own room in his own crib.  The first few nights were tough on me as I jumped at every single breath he took. haha.
  • Tyler started sleeping through the night very early on.  I would give him his late bottle (usually around 11pm-12am) and he would wake up when Mike did around 6 am for his next bottle. 
  • He was a gassy little guy.  He had to take gas drops in almost every bottle and we finally switched to fussiness and gas formula for a few months.  It was so sad because he would just cry and get all red faced but could not do anything about it.  :( Not fun.
  • At about 3 months we started introducing cereal and he LOVED cereal.  He would eat about 2 spoonfuls a night and then sleep through the night.
  • Also at 3 months (or around there) he started rolling over a bit.  It was so funny because he could only roll one way at first.  It took a few weeks to master the rolling to the left.
  • At about 6 months we started jar foods.  He loved food (and still does)!  Especially the orange foods like carrots and sweet potatoes.  His face would actually turn orange from eating so much of them.  I thought this was a myth but it really does happen!  People would stop us and comment on how orange he was. LOL.
  • Also at 6 months he was crawling.  He started with the army crawl and could not figure out how to get up on all fours.  We had him ready for the bath one night with just a diaper on crawling on the carpet and it must have hurt because he all of a sudden out of nowhere got up on all fours and took off. 
  • The night before he turned 10 months he took about 11 steps!  We were so happy he started walking but then he decided that was it for a few weeks.  I think he scared himself.  About 2 weeks later he was on the go!  He skipped the "walking" and started with "sprinting". 
  • For his first birthday we had a Sesame Street party!  It was so fun to decorate and get the presents all wrapped in Sesame Street wrap.  My dad's culinary school made the Elmo cake and surprised us! I made character cupcakes and we had a bounce house. We had a great turnout! 
  • At 13 months we went with Aunt Carrie and Abby and Knox to get our first haircut!  Pig Tails and Crew Cuts in Little Rock did a wonderful job!  He loved it so much he cried when we made him get down.  It is amazing how with one haircut he looks like a boy not a baby anymore!!!! 
  • Now, at almost 14 months old he is a boy on a mission.  He knows exactly what he wants and when he wants it.  He will nod his head yes and no, come pull on your hand if he needs help, uses a spoon (still messy though), holds his own cups, climbs up on things, marches, blows kisses, babbles (dada, mama and yes are three clear words we have heard), blinks, laughs out loud, plays hide and seek, rides his four wheeler, swims and floats on his back, and the list keeps growing everyday! 
There is not a day that goes by that I do not thank God for allowing me the opportunity to raise this little boy.  He is such a blessing and I have enjoyed each and every day of being called his mommy!  I could not ask for a better husband and father to help as well!  He is always playing with him, teaching him new things, reading him books, swimming with him, etc.  I truly am blessed!

Thanks for reading this extra long post of the re-cap of the first year.  I am sure I missed quite a bit but tried to touch on the most important milestones! Check back more often as I am going to get better but need to be help accountable.  Here are some pictures of the first year (in no particular order).

                                                                                    <3   A very proud momma

Sleepy boy at one week old...

Rolling over in sleep..

Clevelan Indians baseball game at 2 months old

Loves bathtime so much!!!

3 months old and so happy about it.

Wanna go fishing?!?

hellllllloooo LADIES!

My first wedding.

HO HO HO

First beach trip..

Put Em Up..

Just Watching Football

Beach Bum- 7 months old

Sea World Fun

I love bike rides- this is our nightly tradition

I turned 1 today!

Out on the boat at 13 months

Halloween- I was Pierre the Pumpkin

First haircut- 13 months

Geez lady, leave me alone!

Mom, can you wipe me off please?

Our family of 3 at Tylers first birthday party! :)